When the various parts of the M11 were built, listed in chronological order - or 'How the Road to Hell expanded'
M11 M11 4  
m11 13  


Section Construction started Opened to traffic
Redbridge to Loughton (J4 to J5) October 1973 April 1977
Loughton to S Harlow (J5 to J7) October 1974 April 1977
S Harlow to Bishop’s Stortford (J7 to J8) October 1972 June 1975
Bishop’s Stortford to Stump Cross (J8 to J9) May 1977 November 1979
Cambridge Western By-pass (J9 to J14) Jan 1977 & July 1977 February 1980